Andrew Garfield vs. Tobey McGuire

I tried. I really did. I just can’t get down with The Amazing Spider-Man. I may be in the quiet minority of young adult females who A) don’t find Andrew Garfield all that attractive, and B) don’t judge an actor’s character portrayal on the aforementioned factor; because in all honesty, I think the new film sucked.

Okay, maybe that’s a little harsh a term. It didn’t ‘suck’, I just feel that the role of Spider-Man is completely and perfectly personified by Tobey McGuire. I’m not being elitist over Spider-Man; or at least I’m not trying to be… I just feel that my Spider-Man expectations will never be succeeded because Tobey McGuire will always be the Spider-Man in my opinion.

It’s not like other superhero movies (and I don’t know why, Spider-Man has to be one of, if not the definitive character for Marvel, so you’d think there’d be way more)… But for example, the Batman movies: there’s such a vast and diverse array of several different actors taking on the role of B-Man; the constant ‘line-up’ changes are welcomed and expected. When you think ‘Batman’ you’re probably fairly neutral and enjoy aspects of every different actor that’s played him over the many years.

There doesn’t seem to be that variety when Marvel make superhero movies, or is it just me? I mean, when you compare them to DC, there’s actually not that many. Perhaps this is why I feel so strongly about this? I dunno.

I can’t believe I’ve just written a semi-elitist Spider-Man blog. It’s my sister’s 17th birthday and I need to get ready for shenanigans tonight… But I’m interested; does anyone else feel this instinct over Tobey McGuire? Who’s your favourite Spidy of the two? And why?

2 thoughts on “Andrew Garfield vs. Tobey McGuire”

  1. Wow, I honestly thought I was the only one who prefers Tobey over Andrew. I didn’t hate TASM, but the Tobey Maguire movies are my absolute favorite, even though they’re obviously not perfect, I still love them more. Usually when I tell people this they think I’m stupid but meh, Andrew’s just not my Peter Parker.

Leave a Reply

