Abercrombie & Bitch

I never liked Abercrombie & Fitch.

Come to think of it, I never liked any of those preppy, sorority-like clothes designers like Jack Wills, Abercrombie, or Hollister. Yuck.

For me, it conjures up memories of the popular girls at my high school donning their Jack Wills gilets and Juicy Couture handbags. I went to private school all my life, too, so as you can imagine – brands like these were pretty much every day gear for the majority of idiots at my school.

My sister was quite a big Jack Wills fan and she used to drag me into the store with her – something that physically made me cringe – the people behind the counter are everything that people like me despise. Especially the girls; with their judging eyes and overly-exaggerated helium voices. Ugh. If there’s ever any females who need lessons on “how to be nice to other girls” – it’s them. I should give them a Sylvia Plath book and lend them a few Bikini Kill CD’s. Their priorities and superiority-illusions are totally fucked. You aren’t better than anyone else just because you’re wearing a shirt with a dumb embroided pheasant wearing an overcoat and a walking stick on it. Going into that shop was never a comfortable – or pleasant – experience. But back to A&F…

I remember going into the Abercrombie & Fitch store with my mum and sister during a trip to London a few years ago. As you enter the shop, aside from being tempted to shout at one of the staff to “turn the effing lights on!” (it’s horrednously dim-litted), you even have the opportunity to get your photo taken with a topless male model as a souvenir. Have you ever heard anything so ridiculous? I remember trying to suppress my laughter and thinking “What the fuck am I doing here? It’s 9am and I had to get up early for this? P.S., ‘hot’ male model who thinks he’s so clearly above everyone else just because he’s working in Abercrombie & Fitch, you aren’t even slightly attractive, and your breath smells like shit.”

Now. As if my displeasure for these popular (dumb) brands wasn’t solidified enough – I just came across this picture via a friend’s Facebook and, whilst I’m not at all surprised, it’s still absolutely mind-numblingly gross… The mindset these people have… Who the fuck would want to advocate this message?:
20130509-113859.jpg

If being an exclusionary, hateful asshole is what “being cool” is all about to Abercrombie & Fitch, I am so evertly glad that I never have – and never will – fit that category; because, to be perfectly honest, I can’t think of anything worse than adopting and maintaining a mindset so warped, cruel, and vile as the one above.

One thought on “Abercrombie & Bitch”

  1. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

