Scarecrow sympathy/Batman Begins sucked

Am I the only one who was a little weirded out that Cillian Murphy played the Scarecrow in Batman Begins? I mean, don’t get me wrong; Cillian is a great actor, it’s just… I dunno… when I think “Jonathan Crane” I don’t picture a clean-cut, fresh-faced, 20-something year old with piercing blue eyes and devilish good looks.

Dr Crane is an expert professor in his field (the psychology of fear), and is a smart, albeit insane psychiatrist who uses people’s worst fears as a crippling weapon against them. It just seems that his bitter nature has been decades in the making; Crane is someone who’s lived life, and because of that, lost his way and built up this intense hatred for humanity. I just always picture him as a 40-year-old dude in a suit with a moustache. Cillian Murphy just does not fit the image for me. Maybe, as I’ve read the comics, that’s just how I perceive Crane because the illustrations are so integrated in my memory, but meh.

Batman Begins wasn’t my favourite, anyway… Whilst I found the compromised Scarecrow plot interesting, it didn’t really resonate with me as a ‘super villain’ plot (COME ON, JUST A WORN OUT BURLAP BAG OVER HIS HEAD?); there was nothing that really stayed true to the original ‘Scarecrow’, no costume (AGAIN, JUST A FUCKING BURLAP BAG), no clutch of straw, nothing except the fear-inducing toxins (and they could have made them so much more scarier in the film! they suucked!)

Please note: I’m fully aware that the purpose of Batman Begins was not to focus entirely on Jonathan Crane/the Scarecrow

He’s a brilliant supervillian. I think his greatness is really overshadowed by every Batman fan’s weird obsession with the Joker (I love the Joker too, but come on). The thing that drew me most to the Scarecrow is that is he’s a psychologist-turned-psychopath which in itself is interesting. Plus he has the most AWESOME of ALL superpowers. Hello, he can make you hallucinate your worst fears in a sense that it becomes so real, you turn irreversibly insane. THE SCARECROW IS PRACTICALLY INVINCIBLE (I don’t care if Batman does overcome him, if you had the power to make people’s most intense fears come to life, you’d be pretty unbeatable too).

I just think the Scarecrow is super underrated, and whilst I’m not a huge fan of Cillian Murphy’s adaptation – I suppose his undeniable good looks make up for the lack of age and moustache

Leave a Reply

